Sunday, July 14, 2024

Centre’s peace committee a positive step says MP Lorho


Ukhrul, 13 June, 2023: Outer Manipur MP Lorho S Pfoze said the Center’s peace committee is a positive step to bring peace and normalcy to the troubled torn state.

Although he was not consulted officially to be a member, Lorho said that the peace committee is a positive step albeit hopes for a neutral body to really work.

While welcoming the state peace committee by central government, Lorho felt it is too large at 51 members. He feared that more opinions will create more problems.

Also Read: Rs.101.75 crore relief package for displaced people: MHA

The government should think deeper than just forming a committee, he said while also suggesting that a smaller committee may be better to start with.

Meanwhile, a member of peace committee Sarangthem Brajabihari, Chairman, Bar Council of Manipur said Chief Minister Biren Singh is part of the committee “by virtue of his office and may have appointed by the Central government and not from the state”.

On the current crisis Brajabihari felt that it is about a quarrel between brothers and that peace can be achieved if all parties work together.

Earlier, Kuki CSOs had outrightly rejected the formation of Centre’s peace committee with Manipur Governor Anusuiya Uikey as the chairperson fearing the presence of CM Biren Singh in the panel.

Also Read: Naga areas should not be touched: Naga MLAs to Amit Shah


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Share post:




More like this

Border wui rai khiwuivang NAGA yur wuivang strategic sameithui kachi rai ngasahao?

EKHON |UKHRUL: Indo (Naga)-Burma border areas li Kuki kala...

St Joseph Colleges welcomes new students with Comprehensive orientation Programme

EKHON | UKHRUL: St. Joseph College organized a two-day...

EXCLUSIVE: Displaced Leingangching Catholics resettled

EKHON|UKHRUL: In a historic moment, Catholic families who were...

Nomination Papers submitted for TNL Presidential Election

EKHON | UKHRUL: Four candidates have submitted their nomination...